1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Best HOA set up

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Guch710, Mar 9, 2016.

1. Guch710

Guch710 Junior Member

Hi guys, I'm new to plow site. Been a member over on lawnsite for some time and just finally made it over here. A little background about my business... We are a full service landscape/hardscape installation company. We also provide maintenance to HOAs and small commercial businesses.

Until this past year we haven't done too much plowing (not that 15/16 season had a lot of snow but in terms of accounts). We've mainly plowed small commercials under 1.5 acre. And we have subbed out the plowing at our HOAs. I am looking to do the snow at the HOAs next season because quite frankly the guy we have used is getting complacent and the customer service towards the association has gone down hill and is now causing me more stress than it's worth in dealing with a sub.

What is the best set up for an HOA complex? One complex has 60 drives the other has 85. I have skidsteers and compact tractors so my thought was dedicating one machine per site. I was thinking of equipping the compact tractor with a back blade and a front plow. Essentially back up the drive, pull away from the door and then place/stack with the front plow. We would then need to go around the a truck and salt. Does anyone have any suggestions on a more efficient way of going about this? Really don't want to backdrag all the driveways with a truck. Looking forward to other suggestions

Thanks for the help and sorry for the long post

2. newhere

newhere PlowSite.com Addict
    from Fenton