1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Best bang for your buck

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by kylecal91, Dec 30, 2009.

1. kylecal91

kylecal91 Junior Member

I'm new to the snow removal industry as of this year. I need a powerful and reliable snow blower for my jobs. I have a small 3 hp toro powerlite that works excellent for it's size but for the packed and icy stuff it doesn't like it. So just wondering what some of you guys use or recommend.

2. hedhunter9

hedhunter9 Senior Member

Packed or icy stuff ?

Salt.....

3. cfdeng7

cfdeng7 Senior Member
    from CT

if u want to go the snowblower route u are going to need a 2 stage blower. x blades seems to scrape up the packed stuff pretty good haha

4. leon

leon Senior Member

snow blower

========================================================================================================================================================================================================================
    I have the toro CCR 2000 with the power curve paddles and it works well. The problem with ice and frozen snow is it is heavy and tight and hard to break to begin with.

So much depends upon how much money you have to or are willing to spend.

Power, strength and weight/mass/traction are what is required for heavy packed snow and ice.

It boils down to a basic economic question of opportunity cost, which is what are you willing to give up (money) to obtain something else being as more powerful snow blower that will be used only seasonally?

Some of the snow blowers offered today have notches cut into the auger blades to dig into packed snow and ice.