1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Best affordable tractor & plow set up?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by acecool2000, Jun 10, 2014.

1. acecool2000

acecool2000 Junior Member

Hi:

I'm a newbie in the plowing business so please forgive me if I seem a bit green. I live in Truckee, California. During a normal winter, we can get up to 400 inches of snow here (this winter was the exception). I've been approached by a good friend to start a commercial snow removal business here. The idea is to start with plowing just commercial accounts near the Truckee airport. Since we won't need to drive too far, I am considering the purchase of a tractor that will accept a rotary plow. My concern is that to move the amount of snow we may get, I think I may need a tractor that's at least 100 HP. Would like to know your thoughts on best tractor to look at and also best value for a snow blower to attach to said tractor. I looked at some Kubota tractors over the weekend but I'm not sure they have the horse power to move the amount of snow we get here. Obviously price is an issue so I'm looking for the most plow for the buck. Many of the other contractors out here use the Holder tractors with snow blower attached. They seem overpriced to me and I hear they're high maintenance. Thank you for your thoughts and comments.

Acecool2000:salute

2. Chineau

Chineau Senior Member