1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Benefits of Business Bank Acounts?

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by 1BadHawk, Nov 19, 2004.

1. 1BadHawk

1BadHawk Member

Deciding on getting a business account with one of the local banks.

Not sure I totaly understand the difference in a personal and a business account. What are the benefits generally of such an account?
  2. johntwist

johntwist Senior Member

I'm no expert but a few things come to mind right away.

If you plan on reporting your income from plowing as a legitimate business, a separate bank account is necessary to make it easier to do your record keeping. Instead of having to figure out which transactions on your statement were personal and which were business, you'll know they are all business related. This will also make it easier to do your taxes and figure your profit or loss for the year, as well as some of your deductions.

I have a separate account for my business, as well as a separate credit/debit card. I use it to purchase fuel, windshield wipers, windshield washer anti-freeze, as well as pay for vehicle maintenance and repairs, and anything else plowing related. Another GREAT thing is if your bank offers "on-line" banking, most of them are set up so you can export all your account information to Quicken or other types of accounting software, which in turn can be read by TurboTax and makes things very easy come tax time.

I also have to mention that it's not a bad place to tuck away some of your cash so your old lady won't spend it on you! :nod:
  3. DJL

DJL Senior Member

Here is reason el' numero uno!