1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Beginners Huorly Rate for Commercial

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by CAMP Lawncare, Sep 6, 2006.

1. CAMP Lawncare

CAMP Lawncare Member

This is my first year for commercial work i have very little overhead i would really like to pick up some work but i dont want to be known as a LOWBALLER what should figure per hour?
  2. Jay brown

Jay brown PlowSite.com Addict

here $50 is the lowest you should be. i would say $100 is average for your area. BTW these are pickup prices
  3. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

Depending on where you are in West Michigan, it ranges from $25\hour to $150\hour per truck. The lower end is along the lakeshore although there are a few who are trying to raise the bar.

And you shouldn't need to worry too much about being a lowballer, just look at all the 'big' companies that were and continue to lowball in the GR area. You know, charging the same for a loader as a truck, lowering their prices just to get and keep work.

Saying that, the minimum I would go if I were you would be $80\hour. Like Jay stated, $100 would be better but it all depends on your costs, requirements, and profit desires. I have yet to have a problem finding work and I am at the higher end of that scale. Course last year was the first year of the big lowballers. We'll have to see what happens this year. Seems like a couple of them had SMG syndrome or something.
  4. CAMP Lawncare

CAMP Lawncare Member

Im in the GR also thanks that helps alot
  5. GSJ

GSJ Junior Member
    from W. MI

I'm in GR and average about $120.00/ hour.
  6. Runner

Runner Senior Member