1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

beginner snowplower.....maybe

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by rferoni, Jul 27, 2003.

1. rferoni

rferoni Junior Member

Hello all,

I just bought a truck and am thinking of trying to do a little snowplowing this year. I've NEVER done any plowing before behind the wheel of a truck. I have done a few large country driveways using tractors. I have a ton of questions......

First off, I work full time so plowing will be on the side. I would only like to get one or two small businesses at first to see how it goes. How do you determine the price? hourly rate? per job? What are going rates? I'm located in south eastern Michigan. What is a good way to actually present the bid for the job?

What kind of plow should I get? The vehicle is a 1995 F-250 ext.cab 4x4. 351w 5spd manual w/4.11 rear end. I will be buying used and don't want to spend alot of money as I'm not even sure I will like doing it(although I think I will, snow and big trucks just sounds fun!)

If anyone can point me in the right direction I would sure appreciate it. Thanks,

Ron

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

3. JohnnyU

JohnnyU 2000 Club Member

To be honest, if you already have a full time job with inflexible hours (is that even a word) you may not have the tim for plowing. There is no set time to plow, nor is there any set time that snow comes and stops. It is a very time consuming and unreliable business to be in, unless you are in say, LaGrangeville, NY. Pelican seemed to never park that truck this past winter.