1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Basic Q's about truck and plow

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by plowdummy, Jan 3, 2006.

1. plowdummy

plowdummy Junior Member

Hi there,

I'm new to the forums and know little or nothing about plows/plowing. However, I've been working on and around pickups and small tractors all my life, so I have some degree of knowledge - probably just enough to get myself into trouble (hence my user ID "plowdummy").

Anyway, I'm looking at an '86 Dodge W150 4x4 with a Meyer 7.5' plow. It's in rough shape. The seller is asking $1295/obo, and I'm really on the fence about whether I should make him an offer. Here's the scoop:

The truck is a 318 automatic. The Meyer plow looks newer (I don't have the model number). I didn't see any leaks in the hydraulics, or any obvious damage to the assembly. The seller says he added helper springs to the front, and also added a tranny cooler.

As for the truck itself, the body is rusted pretty bad. Frame looked okay, although I wasn't able to drive it on the open road to see how it handled at highway speed. Engine seemed to run well, trans shifted fine, plow appeared fully operational. The truck is just ugly and rusty.

However, one thing in favor of buying this particular truck is that I have an '86 D150 2WD pickup as a parts donor. The donor truck's body is relatively clean, so I'm considering doing a full body swap.

I checked into insurance and found that I can get a commercial policy for $360/6 mo. to cover plowing. At that rate, I might be able to pay for a lot of this with a few small residential jobs. Other than that, it would mainly be for my own personal snow removal.