1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by mobo, Jan 30, 2005.

1. mobo

mobo Member
    from Ohio

Just had a question, I am new at this and still can not make up my mind on a plow. I have a 2001 F150 Super Crew and the western dealer said yesterday he would install a lsx plow for the same price as the suburbanite I told him I would get back to him. I looked my truck up on western's quick match and it said I needed 850 ballest. I was wondering if that was 850lbs I need to add. If I go with the suburbanite I need 0 ballest.
  2. CrazyCooter

CrazyCooter Senior Member

Ballast, bullocks!

Yes, they are referring to the amount of weight that you have to carry to give you traction and / or balance out the weight of the plow on the front of the vehicle. Me, I always have 1/2 ton or so of sand in the back so it really doesn't make a difference to me, but I did see a truck in the last storm who had no weight on the back. He was in front of me, and every time he stepped on the gas, his @ss end would swing out. I told him he should grab a shovel and load up his bed with snow so he could make it safely home.
  3. plow150

plow150 Member

Another thing to note about recommended ballast is that they're expecting it'll be placed behind the rear axle, not just anywhere in the box, to offset the weight on the front axle.
  4. saleen49

saleen49 Junior Member