1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Sciticofarms, Nov 5, 2006.

1. Sciticofarms

Sciticofarms Junior Member

:nod: I have a GMC 3500 Dually. I'm going to put a Fisher 8 1/2 XBlade on it. The system shows it weights 950 lbs. Now the question... what do you guys use for ballast? I certainly don't want the weight to shift around (that could be dangerous/useless). As you can imagine... I'm new to this industry. This web site has been very helpful. I've learned a lot. I'm impressed that you guys are so willing to help one another out. I know I'm going to enjoy working in the field. Thanks in advance.
  2. DaySpring Services

DaySpring Services PlowSite.com Addict

I used sandbags with a 2x8 across the back in the past. This year I'll be using my salter and salt.
  3. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

On the old flat beds we used to put on the concrete parking lot bumpers and tie them down.
  4. scottL

scottL PlowSite.com Addict

I've tried sand bags ... the bags rot after a year or two. Cement blocks shift ..... So I went with 40 pound bags of water softener salt. Then after the season I lug them into the basement for use in the water softener.
  5. jcesar

jcesar Senior Member
    from Mi

I use a refillable bladder, that fits and forms to the inside of the truck bed. Only loose about 4 inches of height, and it is non puncturable. Amounts to about 450lbs.
  6. aus316

aus316 Member

As it was said skid of salt and spreader with tool boxes works wiff me so far:gunsfiring: when salt runs low reload :gunsfiring:
  7. IndySnowPlow

IndySnowPlow Senior Member
    from Indiana