1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Ballast

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by yooper.mi, Jul 16, 2005.

1. yooper.mi

yooper.mi Senior Member

What do you use for ballast in a pickup?

2. Swinn

Swinn Member

Try a search for ballast. I am new at this stuff so I have been doing a lot of reading lately too. Wife is not too happy with me because I have been spending some much time on here. If I did this correctly try clicking on it to get you started and good luck.

http://www.plowsite.com/showthread.php?t=22175&highlight=ballast

3. yooper.mi

yooper.mi Senior Member

Thanks for the come back, I plow my own 1000' driveway with two, 1 acre, yards ,one is the kids yard. I also do a driveway a half mile down the road. I'm located on the shore of Lake Superior and total snowfall of 275"to 375" total snowfall a season, this snow piles up and only melts at the end of season so you have to love to push snow.

4. justme-

justme- 2000 Club Member

if you're only plowing your own 2 driveways then the plow isn;t on long enough to worry about ballast.

5. yooper.mi

yooper.mi Senior Member

Actually the plow goes on in Nov and stays on till April, not putting it on and off every day or two.

6. PremierLand

PremierLand PlowSite.com Addict
    from detroit

yooper... I just want to say I love it up there. My dad has some propety in Silver City, right on lake superior, down the street from a chain hotel, and pourkie pine mts.

I dont like it up there in the summer, but in the winter, I love it, and everyone, DA YOOPERS are nice up there too!!!

anyway, ya it must be sweet to live up there, it'd be like a vaction everyday. LOL. Ever catch a bear?

Last edited: Jul 18, 2005