1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Bad Blades?

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by nickhanso, Feb 22, 2012.

1. nickhanso

nickhanso Junior Member

I have a Western Vplow and it seems to scrape alright.. leaving a little dusting on concrete and digging a little on gravel. My question/problem is the middle rubber/mount seems to keep the blades off the driveway a little and the bolts are scraping. Do I need new blades or just to replace the rubber. and yes I'm new to this... :) But seem to be having some fun. Thanks.

2. Antlerart06

Antlerart06 PlowSite Veteran

you have any pics of it hook up on the truck So everybody can see what you are talking about

3. nickhanso

nickhanso Junior Member

Sorry had to quick take them... Little dark outside tried my best for tonight could post better ones tom. afternoon.

news 002.jpg

news 005.jpg

school 019.jpg

news 001.jpg

news 004.jpg

4. Antlerart06

There be somebody can help you I dont run that setup
    I run my rubber between the wear bar and the trip edge

5. nickhanso

nickhanso Junior Member

Thanks! Figured I'd post something soon just in case I do need new blades and could possibly be doing more damage than good.

6. nickhanso

nickhanso Junior Member

Do you have a western? And also how should I have my chain adjusted? Should it be tighter when it lowered or loose?

7. Antlerart06

Looks like you still lots of wear left but the bolt on your rubber does look close
    Wear edge looks like is wearing even
    Is there any adjustment to pitch it forward more So it wont wear your rubber bolt off
    Maybe somebody that has the same setup will post up

8. Antlerart06