1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Back up plan/guy

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by PTTP08, Nov 29, 2010.

1. PTTP08

PTTP08 Senior Member
    from mn

Hello I am kinda new to the biz I have been plowing now for 3 seasons I have very few of my own properties I do some subbing also. My question is this for the smaller one truck operation peeps. What kinda of plan do you have when your truck breaks down and you can't plow your OWN properties or your on vacation etc. Do you go to craigslist and find a local dude to pay by the hour and just have a standing agreement? I am looking for some ideas as I had to fire my back up plan he just was not RELIABLE !

Thanks again
  2. Turf Commando

Turf Commando Senior Member

I certainly wouldn't seek help from craigslist plowers...
    Best thing is make friends with fellow competition and see if they can cover you if something arises...
    I've plowed for 3 seasons and 1 time I need assistance, having someone to cover you is good business sense..
  3. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict