1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Back up light Relay question

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Pearcelawn, Nov 19, 2006.

1. Pearcelawn

Pearcelawn Senior Member

I want to put a set of driving lights on the truck for better visibility backing up since my windows are tinted. Is it necessary to use a relay or can I use self grounding lights and just tap into the power lead for the stock reverse lights and have them activate that way?

I am fairly new to the sight but have gotten a lot of great info from here. Everyone seems very knowledgeable so I have confidence in the advice I will get.

Thanks in advance to all!!

2. 84deisel

84deisel Senior Member

I have always just tapped into the wires at the rear for reverse lights and usaully just use the old rubber mount tractor light.
  3. Pearcelawn

Pearcelawn Senior Member

Thanks very much. I have read some of the stuff here on the subject but had seen guys doing it both ways. I appreciate you clearing that up.
  4. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

Do a search under back up lights or reverse lights. This as been covered many times and in many ways.:waving:
  5. DaySpring Services

DaySpring Services PlowSite.com Addict

Use a Relay!!!
  6. c.schulz

c.schulz Senior Member

I highly suggest using a relay. Dont ever over load a circut. Build one of your own with this .......

7. Pearcelawn

Pearcelawn Senior Member

Basher, as I mentioned ,I HAD seen the posts of guys doing it both ways. I was just hoping for clarification.

Thanks for the diagram to c.shultz and for the input ridehardny.