1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Back Draging

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by TwistedMetal, Oct 14, 2007.

1. TwistedMetal

TwistedMetal Member

Found this site very helpful, wish i had heard about it last year.i am new to plowing one year under my belt.made some mistakes and learned the hard way.seemed my biggest problem was back dragging with my western MVP. any tips for back dragging would be helpful. im also adding a snoway plow with down pressure to my jeep wrangler hoping it will make easier work of the smaller driveways.
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

The "hard way" is the best way to learn - you tend to have more thorough learning and the lessons stay with you better then just reading or hearing about them.

Not sure what your problems were with backdragging, but essentially:

Drive straight forward to the area you want to clear with the plow fully raised.

Lower the moldboard, making sure the plow is in "float" mode.

Back up slightly, at which point you might want to get it out of float to avoid "riding up" on the snow.

Back up about two truck lengths. Raise the moldboard.

Back enough to be able to drive straight into another run for backdragging.

Repeat process untill you've got the area cleared that you wanted to backdrag.

Turn around and back on the cleared area enough so you're completely behind the snow you just pulled.

Push forward to where you want it.