1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

auto trany slliping from 1 to 2

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Vaughn Schultz, Nov 19, 2004.

1. Vaughn Schultz

Vaughn Schultz PlowSite.com Addict

I have 1993 dodge 150 4x4. I can feel it slip a little as it shifts from 1 to 2. I had a buddy of mine look at it that is very good with that stuff and he said that it would be fine for a now (not to bad). I am new to plowing, with my trany slipping should i plow in D,1,2, / 4h or 4l ? I have no clue. The fate of my truck lies in your hands. :salute:

2. Tarkus

Tarkus PlowSite.com Addict

Not to good but it may last for a bit. Change fluid and filter in tranny if you have not already done so and install a aux tranny cooler to and plow in lower range and take it a bit easy transporting (do not crowd it on 1st to 2nd shift) and you may get by for a while.

3. Mark Witcher

Mark Witcher Senior Member

If it was my truck, I would have the trans rebuilt now. Why wait for it to leave you stranded on the side of the road?

4. Tarkus

I had a old torqueflite that shifted a bit funny going into 2nd in the 70's in a car and I drove it a few years and sold it. This kind of failure is slow if you watch it and keep fluid cool because if fluid is allowed to get too hot it will die a lot quicker. Sometimes a fluid and filter change helps a lot...

5. Vaughn Schultz

Thanks so far

should i plow in D,1,2, / 4h or 4l ? I still have no clue?

Also I have 2 gas stations, one restaurant, and about 20 drives ( not big) if it was your truck, do your rebuild the trany now or suck every bit of life out of it. (I only have one truck with a plow)

6. Tarkus