1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Atv Plow Newbie

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by crazyskier537, Mar 2, 2011.

1. crazyskier537

crazyskier537 Senior Member
    from NE IL

Hey all!

I am planning on getting myself an ATV to help with snow residential snow removal. I have little experience with them, and would like to pointed in the right direction. I need a machine that will be able to push a plow 48 to 54" (60 is wide for some of my walks). I would like something around 500cc to have a little extra power, and would most likely go with a moose country, or cycle country state plow, as I really love the extra height.

Now, my question is what is the cutoff for the amount I should be paying for an atv like a foreman. What condition should it be in? What is the cutoff for acceptable price, amazing price, and downright suspicous price? Any features I should look for?

Can somebody also give me a link to an auction or listing on Ebay of a quad they would buy if they were in my situation? Don't want to screw up and buy a pos.

Thanks for taking the time and reading this,
    Tim

2. dt5150

dt5150 Senior Member
    from NH

i have a 60" county blade on my grizzly 700. while the machine pushes the blade w/out a problem, i wouldn't get a county blade again. it won't float up at all when you hit the bank. i used to have a regular 60" blade on my old machine that would come up a bit and would allow you to push the snow higher up the bank. i think it's because the county blade is heavier than a regular blade. that being said, they do work, and work well, but i would like the blade to float up a bit when i hit the bank instead of doing a dead stop.