1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Asked to salt tomorrow: no experience, help please

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by mmwb, Feb 10, 2006.

1. mmwb

mmwb Senior Member
    from wyoming

This is my first year plowing. I have one commercial account that I was called on by the out of state property owner stating that he was aware that there was some ice on the lot. Our contract was for plowing and not salting, so there is not a problem between us, but he is concerned about liability risks. I was actually planning on drawing a bid up for him for salting for next season. Understand that NOONE salts here. In the 8 years I’ve lived here, I have never seen anything beyond a residential sidewalk salted. As such I’ve a lot with up to about an 1” of ice in spots (where the city pushes up into the drives and it is driven on), though the average will be less than ½”.

What I have available locally to deal with this now (and I want to deal with this and develop a regular salting contract with this guy) is:

salt (plain and simple) at .20 lb
    Zero (don’t know what’s in it) at .22 lb
    Potassium/sodium chloride mix at .25 lb
    Calcium chloride at .49 lb

I have about a 25,000 sq ft area to treat. Normally I’d think a four to one mix of salt and calcium chloride might be a good deal if regularly treating, but am thinking with this much ice that I need to go with straight calcium chloride. I figured I would bid the job at x amount per lb/ or per bag.

Am I on the right track to go with the calcium chloride? It has been getting to -5 or so at night and into the low 20’s during the day.

How much should I expect to need per application for 25,000 sq ft?