1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Are my prices fair?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by HitchC&L, Jan 14, 2012.

1. HitchC&L

HitchC&L Member

Im new to sanding/salting and I want to know if my numbers are fair and reasonable.

I charge 75/hour to spread, plus material costs. With a 1/2 hour minimum ($37.50)

Material:

Manufactured Sand/Salt Mix:
    I Pay: 35/ton
    I Charge: 70/ton

Straight Salt
    I Pay: 95/ton
    I Charge: 250/ton

These prices are for commercial, I dont sand any residentials unless they really want it.

I just want to know if these numbers are in the ballpark. Am I too high? Am I too low?

2. Raymond S.

Raymond S. Senior Member

Sounds low. Price by the pound. $75 an hour to spread may sound good but my biggest lot takes all of 10 minutes to spread 800lbs and I get alot more than $75. If you're happy with $75/hr then just figure it into your costs per lb. No need to log time and material used, just set a per pound price and keep track of how much is put down...or better yet price per salting or sanding and apply accordingly.

Edit: I missed your markup on the pricing. After figuring an application of 800lbs plus $37.50 labor (1/2 hr minimum) you're not too far off. Still easier for me to price per pound and per salting.

Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  3. HitchC&L

HitchC&L Member

Thanks for the response.I'm thinking next year ill go to a weight only price and see what I come up with.

Anyone else have any opinions on my numbers?

4. terrain1

terrain1 Junior Member