1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Are contracts binding

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Joe T, Dec 12, 2012.

1. Joe T

Joe T Junior Member
    from Ohio

I have two signed contracts from commercial accounts. Signed in September for the 2012-2013 season. I have staked the property and when I went there today, there was another company's stakes there. Talked to owner who signed the contract and they said they decided to switch companies. I have been doing this lot for 15 years. Do I have any recourse. Too late in the season for me to replace this with another job.
  2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

All depends,does it pay enough to hire a lawyer to fiht it? In most cases if it were to go to court the contract is the law.
  3. ducaticorse

ducaticorse PlowSite.com Addict
    from we

Depends on the verbiage of the contract. If it's airtight, they will have to pay you, plus any legal fees.
  4. ducaticorse

from we

out of curiosity. How did that conversation go? I'd like to hear how you've handed it thus far, and what the client said to you.
  5. Joe T

Joe T Junior Member
    from Ohio