1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Applications

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Joe Podolsky, Nov 21, 2001.

1. Joe Podolsky

Joe Podolsky Junior Member
    from 45120

Sorry I hit the tab button. Not very user friendly.

Back to the question at hand.

I don't care who posts what---I want info.
    I have been checking out the products for 6 months.
    I get conflicting stories, and no one wants to say what the applications rates or what temp. to apply.

So all you people who are not supposed to advertise on the site----This is you chance.

Ice Ban---Pros and cons. Application of products.

Majic-----Pros and cons. Application fo products.

Thanks
    Joe

2. plowking35

plowking35 2000 Club Member
    from SE CT

Speaking stricly from a coated salt angle, your application rates will be the same as non coated salt. But the product will work longer, melt more snow/ice, and have a residual effect on the next winter event. So your overall usage will drop10-25% depending exactly on conditions. If you are using a salt /sand mix, you can drop the sand end of the equation and save clean up costs as well.
    In granular form they can be applied at any tempurature.
    Once you get into liquids you have a totally different animal.
    Dino

3. Joe Podolsky

from 45120

Thanks Dino:

What I am looking for is the application for the
    liquid. I know it is (by guess and by golly) till you learn.

But what are the general do's and don'ts.

Joe

4. John DiMartino

John DiMartino PlowSite.com Veteran