1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Apartment Complex

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by StormRanger, Oct 15, 2009.

1. StormRanger

StormRanger Member
    from NorEast

Ive been plowing for 4 years now, never got into apartment complexes though. Ive been asked to bid 7 unit complex, around 1/4mi of lanes, plus spaces.
    Plow + salt.

He wants a seasonal price for both, which im not a fan of, but whatever gets me work. He wants to get people to alternate parking spaces after storms, but we know thats not going to happen. Im competing against 2 other bidders, but I have the upper hand, they came looking for me.

But I need to figure out how to bid this as a seasonal bid, I live close by, so going there a couple few times a storm isn't a big deal. I figured cut the lanes open first thing, and then come back later on to clean up more, then maybe several hours later to try and clean where the cars were. Do you typically figure out a price for clearing the entire lot with 'no cars' and multiply that times the number of average snow falls?

Now the salting, that will be on an 'as needed' basis, but how does that work if the cars are filling the spots and I can't get salt there, then someone falls while getting into their car? Hows that work?

Is bidding something like this seasonal a bad idea? I was going to suggest hourly, but he mentioned seasonal.

Anything else I should know about apartment complexes?

2. buckwheat_la

buckwheat_la 2000 Club Member

heres how