1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Apartment community plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by snowbunny123, Jan 11, 2010.

1. snowbunny123

snowbunny123 Junior Member
    from ohio

Hello all! I am so happy i've found this site, as i am hoping someone knowledgeable about snow plowing can answer a few questions for me. I am a property manager at an apartment community and it is my first winter supervising snow removal. I know very little about what our equipment is capable of and i don't always trust what the maintenance man in charge of plowing is telling me. Sometimes i feel like i might be asking too much of him because i am unsure of what can and can't be done with our plow. At other times i feel that what i'm asking of him is resonable and he is simply taking advantage of the fact that i am new at this. In our most recent snowstorm it was discovered by another staff member that the "pin" on the plow had been bent and therefore removed from the truck. As i understand it the "pin" or maybe "foot??" is ment to keep the blade from making direct contact with the pavement. Is it harmful to run the plow without the pin? We have never done this in the past and i was wondering what the consequences of plowing without the pin in place might be. Thanks so much for your advice / response. I hope to further educate myself about snow removal throughtout winter!

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

You mean the plow shoe ,you can plow without them gives it a cleaner scrapping of the snow but you do wear down the cutting edge a little faster.

3. forestfireguy

forestfireguy PlowSite.com Addict

Welcome Bunny.........