1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

anyway to cut the tops of snowbanks down

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by harryhood, Jan 28, 2011.

1. harryhood

harryhood Junior Member
    from ct

ok, I'm a total newbie with plowing. This is the first year for me plowing my driveway as opposed to snow blowing. And with the way where getting slammed in CT what a year to start with, lol

Like move resi driveways, I am running out of room to put the snow. Is there any way (without a skidsteer or excavator) to cut down tall snow banks? I raised my plow as high as I could, shortened the chained as much as possible and drive to topple the banks but the plow like rises up with the bank and leave a Hugh pile of snow that just falls back into the driveway when I back off.

In some areas there is a hill on the other side of the snow bank so i would think I should be able to get the top of hte bank to fall over down the decline.

Not the best pictures I know.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

My plan as of right now is to climb on the banks and try to shovel the show down the backside of the banks.

2. loudcav

loudcav Member
    from ohio

if you didnt you should of pushed the snow far into the yard but thats a lesson learned your plan sounds like alot of hard work Id personaly just go rent a bobcat or loader and start off freash

3. harryhood

harryhood Junior Member
    from ct

yup, I should have pushed the snow further back. I had no idea what I was doing.

The only places I've been able to find with something that would do a good job of removing the snow that I need will only rent to licensed and insured contractors.

4. loudcav

loudcav Member
    from ohio