1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Any weather alerts by text??

Discussion in 'Weather' started by rick W, Jan 3, 2016.

1. rick W

rick W Member

I have been in this business a long time. One of my biggest pains is getting up 4 times a night and checking when there is high probability and also concerns that one of those nights when i had plans (few drinks etc) i could sleep through an event.

With all the tech stuff out there, does anyone know of a way you can subscribe to a weather site and set up a notification of weather?

Example, i am a pilot and in my plane, i have a weather feed that knows lighting strikes are a huge issue, so they are noted and laid over my maps in real time showing location.

If a weather service could allow us to ask for anything in a certain temp (below 0) and precipitation falling..........it would send a text, i would think that would be pretty cool. Any thoughts...anything like this out there?

99 percent of the time I am up and out prior to snow/ice, but a back up for the 1% we are not paying attention or its a fluke would be very cool.

Just a thought...anyone with tips on how you ensure you dont miss or sleep through weather?

2. JoeG3

JoeG3 Senior Member

The Weather Channel app allows you to turn on notifications that let you know when it is going to snow/rain based on your GPS location. It will pop up saying snow expected in your area to start at xx time, I think it is usually around 30-45 min before they think it will start.

3. theholycow

theholycow PlowSite.com Addict

4. AccuCon

AccuCon Senior Member
    from CT