1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Any tips on finding new customers?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by pongow26, Dec 26, 2008.

1. pongow26

pongow26 Senior Member

:confused:This isn't my first year plowing but it is my first year plowing on my own wit my own equipment. I am trying to build a customer base and have an ad in the local paper, handed out about 20 business cards(population here is under 5000) and I plan to put out some more flyers, What else can I do? I have only two regular customers although they are friends. Any suggestions??
  2. E.D.

E.D. Junior Member

I'd say its a little late in the season to be trying to recruit a customer base. Most people (atleast around here) that want a plowing service are signed into a contract in early november. Are you trying to get commercial contracts or just residential ones? Are there a lot of other snow removal companies in your area? If there are other companies, and your having trouble finding work right now, i'd say give them a call and see if they need a sub for a while. This should get you decent pay and maybe you can learn a thing or two about how they go about recruiting and apply it next year. Just my .02 hope its helpful
  3. pongow26

pongow26 Senior Member

ok that might be why lol I waited until mid december to advertise. There isn't any plowing specific companys here but all the local construction companys plow mostly commercial. I am looking for residential/small busniess customers only as ionly have one truck and I am not set up to salt or anything.
  4. E.D.

E.D. Junior Member