1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

any suggestions welcomed

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by burbguy, Mar 10, 2006.

1. burbguy

burbguy Junior Member

Most of you guys know alot more about plowing than I so being this is my first year and actually only have a few weeks into it. My question is that I currently have a 90 suburban with a 7'6" wesern on it. I do not like the visibility out of the back of it when trying to mauver around driveways. So I am looking at a couple trucks and would like some feedback on them. The first one is a 3/4 ton 76 dodge powerwagon with a 360 and fulltime 4x4. It seems like it would be a good truck. The other is a 83 chevy 3/4 ton with a 6.2 diesel and a fourspeed. I am a diehard chevy guy but am sort of leary on the 6.2 because of stories I have heard of them blowing up alot. Any feedback that I can get would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Emerscape

Emerscape Member

In response to your question, I would try to look into something a little bit newer. The chevys had tons of problems with the diesels all the way through the late 90's. It's not that they are bad trucks but I've heard of soo many horror storys about injectors and such.If your set on a diesel I would really recomend trying to find a late 80's to mid 90's ford f350 powerstroke , or even an old 6.9. If not an older Chevy, GMC or Ford with a 5.9 v8 or 5.7 would serve you well. I would stay away from the dodges untill the late late 90's as the yare known for horrible transmissions Good luck with your search I wish i could be more of help to you.
  3. burbguy

burbguy Junior Member