1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Any Problems With New Ho Cummins?

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by Cooters Dodge, Nov 19, 2004.

1. Cooters Dodge

Cooters Dodge Member

I have 03 dodge with cummins in it and was wondering any of you guys that have newer upgraded cummins have any problems with it?

2. moel

moel Junior Member

no - its been great

3. aces

aces Junior Member
    from SD

I have no direct experience with the newer Cummins diesels - mine's a 98. Here is a site where i've found a lot of good practical info: http://www.dieselram.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

Check into the "3rd Generation" forum and see what they're talking about!

4. 440trk

440trk Senior Member

Maybe Price? :p

Those I have spoken with , have had no problems...I wish my budget would allow one to be parked in the driveway. :nod:

5. moel

moel Junior Member

6. crashz

crashz Senior Member

My father bought the new HO Cummins this summer. Loaded. Man - its a nice truck. So far he loves it. Hasn't worked it at all. Won't plow, tow or haul anything, he leaves that to his other trucks.

The only gripes I've seen is the servicability. I changed the oil for him (his arthritis is getting bad) and getting the filter out was nothing less than a two person job. Definately needs a filter relocation kit.

7. Cooters Dodge

Cooters Dodge Member

Crash you just need long arms! 440 I didn't have the budget either but I did it any ways. It makes it tight but with my buisness growing it makes me feel better about the purchase. I could not be doing what I'm doing now with old 1/2 ton with 360. I've got nothing against gas motors, but that 360 in my half ton was the most underpowered engine I've had in a vehicle.