1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Any ideas what to charge??

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by cvjeticanin, Oct 13, 2011.

1. cvjeticanin

cvjeticanin Junior Member

I am new here on the forum and i appreciate all the great info that i've been reading!! It's my first year plowing for myself and i have a commercial lot to bid. I figured that i'd ask the pros what their thoughts were.

Here is the breakdown:
    My truck: 2005 F-250..with Meyers Poly Plow....and 800lb. Buyers Salter spreader.
    I will be using 50lb. bags of Salt....probably cost me about $4-$5 a bag.

This lot is a retail location and needs to be salted heavily in the front and moderately in the back of the building. No sidewalks to clean.

Here is what i have come up with so far: (Please correct me if i'm wrong)

Lot Size:29,000 Sq ft.
    Estimated time: for plowing and salting 1hr.
    Gas used: probably less than 2 gallons
    Amount of Salt used on each application (when needed): 8 bags
    I estimated the annual contract to be for $3,500 w/salting....or $2,220 no salt???

Does this sound reasonable or is it way out of line??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...the more the better!!

Thanks again.:waving:
  2. cvjeticanin

Here is a pic of the lot i am talking about:

i also drew in arrows showing where i plan to push the snow...the front lot has a retaining wall by the street that's why i'm pushing it all to the left on the front part.

REAPER 2000 Club Member
    from 60050

I think you are low.