1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Any help appreciated, electrical noob here

Discussion in 'Western Plows Discussion' started by Pugz, Jan 9, 2016.

1. Pugz

Pugz Junior Member

Good evening guys,

This is my second post ever on plow site so bear with me please.

To start I have a 2002 f250 7.3l diesel and recently purchased and restored a used Western Pro plow. The plow came with the two relay system. I followed westerns instructions and wired up the plow. I rand the passenger purple to the white/light blue and the driver side brown to brown and grey to green/white (both the brown and green/w are off the back of the turn signal). The previous owner had an extra wire spliced into the brown wire but this is going no where?

My results have been strange, after checking grounds and grill connections I have running lights on the plow only, the turn signal causes both sides to flash like hazards on both the truck and plow. I have no high beams (replaced relay, same result) and when I trigger the high beam I have only the left plow light lighting up.

Any help would be appreciated, I have working diagrams and the mechanics manual but have not been able to figure this out. Thanks in advance. Snow possible tomorrow.

2. mishnick

mishnick 2000 Club Member

Those relay systems are a royal pain in the butt. So many wires and a spaghetti mess of connections. 5 pins on every relay and only two relays.... your lucky, some have 6 relays.

It is possible to upgrade your plow and truck to a three plug, three port isolation module system. Will cost about $1000 but will be more reliable, it's simple to install (in comparison) and much easier to troubleshoot when there is a problem.