1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Any advide for non-commercial plowing?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by P Scivetti, Nov 20, 2001.

1. P Scivetti

P Scivetti Junior Member

Greetings, all.

I'm new to plowing - so I appologize in advance if this isn't quite the right place to post this.....

I spent some time searching for clues as to the 'best' plow to add to my 95 GMC K2500 (HD, with the diesel engine, ext cab, long bed). However, as everyone knows, 'best' depends a lot on the job at hand and other factors (like the threshold of pain for writing big checks)

Almost everyone posting here is plowing massive numbers of driveways, parking lots, etc. I have a much smaller objective....I want to cut down on the amount of time I spend pushing snow with the bucket loader on my (open air) tractor!

Here's what I'm plowing....I live in central Minnesota with about 1/4 mile of gravel driveway to plow. The driveway is skinny - down to just shy of 8' at the narrowest part. There's also a couple of parking areas up near the house & down by the shop.

I've got a Hinneker (sp?) and Blizzard dealers locally. I heard the Hinneker discussion loud & clear -- junk! I also read all the Blizzard messages -- seems folks are really concerned about the 810 plow because of all the moving parts.

The local dealer has the 8' straight Blizzard for around $2,900 installed. My wife almost had a cow when I told her the pricing, but, after reading all the 'buyer beware' posts on used equipment, I think I'd like to stay away from used if possible. Basically, I'm a pretty handy guy, but I'm not a welder and I want to plow snow, not fix my snowplow.