1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Anticipating breakdowns

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by rngr, Dec 6, 2009.

1. rngr

rngr Junior Member
    from Markham

Hey everyone,This is my first year plowing and wanted some advice in regards to preparing for possible breakdowns.
    I have spoken with quite a few people and I am getting a general consensus that plowing snow comes with possibly having to make repairs on the truck/blade throughout the season.
    I wanted to know if some of you experienced guys might be able to gimme some advice on what to expect while I'm out there pushing snow around. I recently purchased a 1996 gmc sierra with a 8' western plow.
    Are their any typical things that might happen to the plow/truck that I can plan ahead for. for example, Should I carry around with me any spare parts just in case? etc. etc. Thanks in advance for any responses.
  2. infineon954

infineon954 Senior Member

what model western? Have extra hoses, fluid, a solenoid, and another backup controller...u know...the basics.
  3. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

How about tools to work on the above things along with maybe a spare angle cylinder and wrenches that fit that. Wouldn't hurt to have a chain to have someone pull you out or to pull someone else out.

If you can't put them in the truck, put them in a weather proof box and spray them with WD-40.
  4. theplowmeister

theplowmeister 2000 Club Member
    from MA