1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Another "oh you're a good guy" story.....

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Dogplow Dodge, Jan 30, 2016.

1. Dogplow Dodge

Dogplow Dodge 2000 Club Member
    from NJ

So, good guys finish last... yes, but not always.

I get a call on Monday regarding clearing a driveway of a residential home on a heavily traveled road nearby. The woman on the phone says she's the sister in law of the homeowner, and that she's been given the responsibility of finding a snow plowing contractor for the driveway at her sister and brother in laws house. I happen to have a long term customer doctor that I've been working for for about 5 years, and they gave her my number.

So the conversation starts as normal, asking what the situation is, and where is the house. I was not far from the house at the time, as another snow plowing contractor who had some issues with his vehicle referred me to a couple of his customers, whom I was clearing snow for at the time. Since I was all rested up from the storm itself, I had the time to go look at this driveway. It was actually on my way home, as I had to get back to let to dogs out to pee, as the old girl can't hold it as long as she used to.