1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Another insurance thread w/ summary

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by dave-man, Sep 26, 2002.

1. dave-man

dave-man Junior Member

First, I started out by searching. <grin>

I've been plowing for about three years doing residential driveways for my home, and my immediate neighbors. I've even done the driveway for the guy across the street who plows for the state, so his wife can get to work while he is still out! No money changes hands (although beer has mysteriously shown up on my doorstep from time to time).

I'm trying to make a small business out of this hobby. Exploring insurance options (comm'l vehicle and CGL) with USAA, my current insurance company, was not very encouraging. They can write me through USAA General Agency for comm'l vehicle ('00 F250SD) taking my premium from about $800 for the truck to around $1600-2000. They won't write CGL. So I am out shopping.

Buy if insurance is an extra $1000 for vehicle, and $1000 (guess) for CGL, and it snows three times here in the DC area (more than the last two years added together) I have to clear $700 per storm after variable costs (gas, tires, oil, etc) before I start paying myself.

I just don't see it without seasonal commercial contracts. Anyone else? Am I missing something here?

A consolidated summary from a search on "insurance company" with cutting and pasting, some consolidation of multiple posts by a single person, but no editing:

thelawnguy

Most GL policies go through The Hartford then come back to you with a commission tacked on and a different name on the cover. Maybe try them direct.

SnoJob67

Try finding an agent that sells Westfield.

John Allin