1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

An opportunity I can't take.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Beachernaut, Dec 19, 2008.

1. Beachernaut

Beachernaut Member

I wasn't sure where to post this, so it's here.

I've been plowing with my ATV for a few years now, and upgraded to a Homesteader on my S10 this year.
    We're in the middle of a fair size storm so I put the plow on this morning before I came to work (I'll do a few friends driveways on the way home).
    No sooner do I pull into work and park, then an ex co-worker pulls up and asks how much I charge. I was honest, I don't know what I'd charge, it depends entirely on what he wants me to plow. As luck would have it, he reciently acquired a auto parts store and is looking for someone to keep the parking lot clear. I told him I'd think about it and get back to him.

Fast forward a few hours. He calls me and tells me that everyone in the building (strip mall) is sick of the contractor that did it last year, and they want me to do it.
    Parking lot only, no sidewalks, no salt. There's no reason for me to get out of my truck.

I'm going over this evening to let him know that I can't accept.
    The major reason is that I will not do their lot without insurance, and I'm pretty sure that they wouldn't pay enough to cover my costs plus a bit of profit for me.
    The other reasons are that I never intended to make a living at this, my full time job comes first, and I only have 1 truck, so a break down would leave me with no way to do their lot.