1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Ammeter????

Discussion in 'Sno-Way Discussion' started by Farmer_01, Dec 6, 2005.

1. Farmer_01

Farmer_01 Member

Hello Everyone,
    I'm new to plowing with little trucks and noticed something that concerned me.

I was swung the plow from side to side then up and down while parked and instead of just paying atten to the plow, today i was watching to see how the truck's electrical system was doing. I looked at the radio and noticed it dimmed slightly. Next I looked at the ammeter and it looked like it was moving almost as fast as the RPM gauge when I moved the plow to it's limits. :eek: I quickly let off the plow controls after seeing this and the gauge quickly returned to indicate it was charging properly. Is this normal for a Snoway 29" plow? I have the heavey duty alternator on my truck. today was the first time I tested my truck in the dark.

The last truck with snowplow I drove was a 1980 Ford tandem dump truck with hydraulic PTO mounted on the trans. It might have been cold inside but it was a tank:nod:

2. GetMore

GetMore Senior Member

That is normal. The electric motor uses a lot of power and if you are up against a stop it will draw even more power.
    To reduce the power drop you should add a second battery. The voltage will not drop as much, but will change at a slower rate.

3. Farmer_01

Farmer_01 Member

Thanks, I feel a little better.