1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Am I in the ball park?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by BGehl, Nov 12, 2010.

1. BGehl

BGehl Member

Hey guys,

I have been doing about 25 residentials for a couple years now and have been doing fine with it. This year one of my resi's asked me to do his storage unit property.

I have read several threads on storage units so i feel like i have a good idea of what i'd be tackling. But somehow it always seems a little different when it is your own account.

I have a F-250 with a 7.5 western on it. I am considering adding wings if i can justify the cost. I am in a buffalo ny suburb.

It is a 100 unit property. I think this link works, let me know if not: http://maps.google.com/maps?q=821+B...code_result&ct=title&resnum=1&ved=0CBMQ8gEwAA . The larger unit on the right has been extended almost twice as far back toward the little creek that runs in the back.

It would be a 3 or 4 inch trigger. And he said don't worry about getting too close to the doors. The tenants are responsible for opening that up. There is a lot of room at the back of the property for stacking etc. And they said that in real bad years they have had to bring larger equipment to move piles and he would pay for that if we need it.

The guy used to plow it himself but is sick and cant handle it. He said it took him about an hour to an hour and a half per plow. I know you guys have talked about looking at how much you make an hour and then base your per push rate off that. Because i have only ever done resi's I am having a little trouble making the jump. But here are my numbers, do i look to be in the ball park?