1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Am I charging to much?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by stevo, Oct 26, 2006.

1. stevo

stevo Junior Member

Im a newbie with a 03' GMC 2500. 7 1/2 western plow charging $125 per hour plus sand driveways $20-30. Im in southeastern CT

2. Chefdrp

Chefdrp Member

If thats what you need to charge to make money then you are just fine. What are other guys charging in your same area and whats there overhead? Around my parts we get around $65.00 per hour. Salting is around 75 % of what it cost to do the plow job.

3. Jay brown

Jay brown PlowSite.com Addict

around here hourly on commercial would be $50 and if it was per push it would equil out to about $110 per hour....

4. framer1901

framer1901 Senior Member

A wise old man once told me charge as much as you can till you start not getting jobs, then re evaluate your prices.

You have to charge what the market will bear.

Just curious thou - "around here hourly on commercial would be $50 and if it was per push it would equil out to about $110 per hour" - how the heck does that math work?????

You'll find that hourly rates vary across the country - here, if I go 20 miles NE, I could charge 50% more. I see people say they are charging 200/hr - do they plow 5 or 25 times per year?? I mean seriously, the areas like the UP in MI probably plow what, 30-40 times a year, while Cinci OH might do 7 times.............. It's like the $175 McD's..........

5. EnviroTeam

EnviroTeam Member

I would guess what he means is that the rate is $50/ hour if you are quoting for a contract and $110/ hour if you don't have a contract and are just going as needed..

6. EnviroTeam

EnviroTeam Member