1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Air intake to prevent air filter freeze up?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Snown13, Nov 8, 2011.

1. Snown13

Snown13 Junior Member

Hey guys I am new to the site and learning a ton. I have been plowing 3 years in 1500 w/ 7'6 snoway. This year I got an 04 duramax crew cab and a 9'2 boss vxt. So I am new to running a diesel. A local mechanic told me I need a smb intake or my trucks air filter will freeze up. Anybody have this happen? I never had any issues with my 05 1500 freezing. Thanks :gunsfiring:

2. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Subscribed....

3. carkey351

carkey351 Senior Member

???? I live in Minnesota and haven't heard of that before...guess I so look out for it, even though the last 10years were fine...ussmileyflag

4. Snown13

Snown13 Junior Member

He told me that the stock system pulls air from the wheel well so it will freeze up and choke the truck and if I bought a s & b it will not freeze up as easy. I have never heard it until today and having never run a diesel truck to plow snow I didn't know if this was a real issue or a hypothetical problem. I have been searching the internet on the subject and I cant find anything.

5. maverjohn

maverjohn Senior Member

Mite be a snip hunt your on?

6. dieselss

dieselss PlowSite Fanatic

Are you still running the stock air cleaner assm.?

7. mayhem

mayhem PlowSite.com Addict
    from Peru MA