1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Air Bags On or Off???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by rogerrc, Dec 5, 2005.

1. rogerrc

rogerrc Junior Member

This is my first time on this site.
    My son an I are new to snow plowing. Have a Boss Plow, F-350 diesel.
    Someone said we should we disconnect the air bags before snow plowing.
    It that true? If so, How??

MOW ME OVER Senior Member

I have heard people say that before also but have never read or heard of anybody having their airbags deploy when plowing. I have 02 F350 myself and did a really rough road last year a couple of times and never had a air bag problem. The road was so rough with bumps and un even alshalt that the blade tripped forward a couple times on me when moving at 8 or 10mph. The way I see it is if you hit something stationary really hard the blade should trip before you would have a air bag deployment problem. Remember that it takes a colision of approxomately 28mph combined head on for the bags to deploy.
  3. JElmWin

JElmWin Senior Member

If air bags were that sensitive then truck dealers wouldn't install plows! Next, if you actually hit something hard enough to deploy bags you'd want them to deploy.:nod: (I still think you should read other thread).
  4. Ken1zk

Ken1zk Senior Member

The air bag system in run by a computer which takes readings from a number of sensors. All the proper conditions must be meet to deploy the air bag. As already stated, if a snowplow blade tripping was enough to deploy the air bag no dealer would mount one on an air bag equipped truck.