1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Afraid to expand?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Boyerlandscape, Dec 20, 2013.

1. Boyerlandscape

Boyerlandscape Member

Hello all,

Long time reader of the site, first time poster. I'm a landscaper (work for a company) and i have a few small mowing accounts i have on my own as i slowlyyyy start to create my own empire. I've been in the industry for 6 years now. All four seasons, and snow is by far my favorite. Started out shoveling for peanuts, leading my own shoveling crew, skid steer, trucks....now winters mean big money for me. My own commercial contracts, subs, etc. I do 5 small-medium sized commercial lots. From my experience as a lackee to my own operation, i've learned a lot and continue to each time i go out. I come from a town where theres a landscape company on every corner. Competition is tight, however theres those 2 or 3 big name companies with the big shop, big fleet...the dream. I look at one of the large accounts in town, a Shaws along with a whole plaza of businesses all in one lot. They have a 3/4 ton with a sander, and two loaders with boxes. Through being in the field, i got wind they get that place for $120k this year.... Its a whole year away, but i think about potentially going after that place next year. Observe their operation this year, see what i could do better/more efficiently and put in a bid.