1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Afew questions

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by Kroozin Kooler, Sep 7, 2010.

1. Kroozin Kooler

Kroozin Kooler Junior Member

I am getting my 2010 Tundra set up for plowing this year I have never done this commercially before but have ran a plow truck at my parking lot before quite a bit. I need to get a light bar & my in-laws have said they will buy it for my birthday (I am really hard to buy presents for because when I want something I usually go get it) I am wondering do I want a permanent or magnetic, led or halogen, low profile or regular anybody have any experience with light bars that wants to offer some advice?

I plan on putting a switch on the dash to run it off of. I like a nice clean look. I am leaning toward a permanent mount & drilling a hole in my roof just to hide the wires.

Secondly: Does anybody use the back up cameras that mount to the license plate frame? I have thought about buying one because the Tundra is kind of tall in the back & I may have a giant apartment complex to plow this year.
  2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

I hardly ever use a light and if I do I have a magnet beacon (lights seem to draw people to come see whats going on)

Run about 600lbs of weight in the bed and that will drop the high attitude of the truck.
  3. no lead

no lead PlowSite.com Addict

permanent mount, low pro, led. 20+ flash patterns and should last a life time. we've sold a ton of the sound off brand and we all love them.
  4. mansf123

mansf123 Senior Member
    from mass