1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by thomas, Oct 21, 2005.

1. thomas

thomas Junior Member
    from maine

I own a few rental properties in Maine and have, for the past three years, shelled out the money to have my driveways plowed. I am a teacher and have the time, since school is usually cancelled, to do it my myself. However, I ahve never plowed before and am not sure if my current truck would handle it. I may also be taking on a few other "jobs" being plowing my friends.family out. I am looking at about 4-5 driveways per storm. I have a 2000 GMC 1500 4X4 (not the Z71 ) ext cab with a 4.8. Is this truck suitable for plowing and what type or size plow would I need? I am thinking of purchasing a new truck (hopefully under 20K). What type of truck/plow do you suggest for my situation? Thanks for the help!!

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Your GMC should be able to handle a 7.5' plow easily. I'd suggest limiting it to your own property, though, until you get the insurance you'll need for commercial plowing. Check with your insurance agent as far as plowing rental property on your current policy. Mine would allow that, but I've heard others who wouldn't. As far as a new truck, I'd suggest a 3/4 ton model and an 8' plow (I'm partial to Fisher). I saw an ad today for a 3/4 ton GMC for just under $20,000, but the plow would take it over that.

If you're close to me ( half way between Augusta and Belfast), I'd be glad to meet with you for any pointers you may want.

3. thomas

thomas Junior Member
    from maine

Thanks