1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

advice on getting clients

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jimplow, Dec 25, 2005.

1. jimplow

jimplow Junior Member

I'm pretty new to plowing (did it for a while a few years ago, then sold my plow and suburban) and have visited this superb site regularly over the past few months and finally decided to join for a couple of reasons. Number One: I have read many excellent suggestions by the members that are very experienced snow plowers and found that all the pointers about plowing have been extremely useful. Thus, I have crafted my own plan which I will describe below, and would really welcome any and all critique from the professionals. Number Two: If any one is fairly new to plowing and is having a hard time finding clients, maybe what I did could possibly help someone else. So here it goes, and as I said, I would welcome the pro's incite.

I bought a new 1500 GM Sierra truc (my "cay" cey doesn't worc so I will be using c for cay) during GM's big employee discount and they gave me a $500 gift certificate to Lowe's. I thought, rather than a bag of wrenches, what can I get to mace some money? Ah! a snow blower. Well I got it and a friend of mine who plows said "bring that thing bac and get a plow- I made lots of money last winter." He gave me the figures and I thought, "I can do that."

So, I brought the snow blower bac, then brought the truc bac and traded it for a 2500 GMC short cab with a 8 foot fisher plow.

Now, how to get business? So, it was about the end of Sept, beginning of Oct and I new that I need to go into high gear in order to get business to pay for this expensive truc and plow.