1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on E-46 repair

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by logfarmer, Dec 17, 2008.

1. logfarmer

logfarmer Junior Member

Hi All,
    My E46 was leaking fluid so I got a 15456 Master seal kit from Mill Supply for $28.12 and took the pump apart with help from the service manual.It was actually leaking from the pump assembly when I got it apart. There are two drain holes on opposite sides of the chamber of the assembly where the motor shaft connects to the pump. After taking the the pump apart it looks like the shaft of the pump is pitted at the pump shaft seal, just below where it connects to the motor shaft. It looks like the seal, part # 15581 can be replaced.
    This pump has only one filter port at the bottom of the base next to the drain plug and had no casting of the year inside the base by the strainer. Just the logo in an oval, IMP. There was no plastic baffle in the base and strainer assembly.
    1. The baffle shows on the parts diagram but would this pump have had one?
    2. If the pump shaft is pitted will this work to replace the seal?
    3. If not is the pump shaft with the gear on it available as a part? ( I couldn't find it on a parts diagram). Or will it be necessary to buy the pump assembly? If so does anyone have experience with non OEM pump assemblies? They are half the cost of the Meyers units.
    Speaking of getting what you pay for the master seal kit from mill supply did not include the brass wiper for the top cap. There was a wiper like a car axle bearing seal but no brass wiper for the very top of the cap like was on it before I took it apart.