1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

adding weight 92 f150

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by pm3808, Nov 7, 2004.

1. pm3808

pm3808 Junior Member

hi i'm a newbie enjoy your site
    question i have to plow about a mile of dirt road with a steep hill plus two drive ways i had a bronco11 and had to put chains onthe back for the hill used it for five years got tired so this year igot a good deal on a used western plow i put on my 92 f1504x4 automatic 300-6 (my 1st new truck) i put timberins in front but there does not seem to be enough weight in back of truck for traction i was thinking of maybe 5 bags of #80 cement do not want chains daily driver any suggestions
  2. johntwist

johntwist Senior Member

I don't know if I'd put cement bags back there brother. When they get wet, it's going to harden and get nasty.
    I bought some concrete blocks, about 600 lbs worth, for about 40 bucks at a masonry supply. If I had it to do again, I'd have bought patio/boiler blocks instead as they are flatter. The problem was securing them. This year I'm going to try a suggestion I got from a guy here. I'm going to put them in the very back of the bed by the tailgate and cover them with a load of sand. It gets wet, so now I have a little more weight and a supply of sand to use to help me or another guy get out if I get stuck or to spread over my driveway after I plow it. The wet sand also holds the blocks in place so they don't slide around, and hopefully so they won't come smashing through my back window if I get in an accident. At least until I get a 'back rack'.
  3. pm3808

pm3808 Junior Member

plastic bags

i plan to put them in platstic bags and put a stop so they don;t move