1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

adding a truck

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by cutbetterthanyo, Dec 25, 2010.

1. cutbetterthanyo

cutbetterthanyo Senior Member

At what point do you add a truck to a property that you service? If you have 2 trucks is it better to put them in 2 locations or both on 1 big one? I am new to plowing with a truck and so is my help, i have always used my tractor, but after last years blizzard i am getting alot of work. My fear is putting a guy in a truck buy himself without experance. I would kind of like to keep a eye on him at first, but not sure if my propertys r big enough, we may just get in each others way. The other problem is most of my propertys need salt and i only have 1 salt spreader, what do you guuy think? Is a place that takes a 1.5 hrs big enough for 2 trucks ? What about a 45 min place? or does it depend on the lay out? We only get a few snowfalls a year so i don't want to screw it all up i want to make money on them. I fear with 2 trucks on the same property i will loose buy not being productive, but i also fear that if seperated i will loose money due to damages to property or equpment. What should i do?

2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict