1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Adding a plow to 5ton military truck advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Suprman, Sep 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Suprman

Suprman Junior Member

After the last New England winter I am looking to add a 10-12 foot plow to my 5ton military truck. It's a big truck 6x6 weights in at around 21k and is 8 feet wide. The bumper is just under 3 feet high. I am not going to start out for hire, just for plowing my businesses and then see how it goes. I have no experience with these large plows and mounting to a heavy truck so any advice would be appreciated. I have seen some manual angle plows and others power angle. I am afraid if the plow is not sturdy enough the truck will bend the plow in heavy snow. The truck is 24 volt and has an air system. Thanks for taking the time to read my post.
    Will

2. BC Handyman

BC Handyman PlowSite.com Addict

First I will say, you better do some learning about plows & plowing, cause there is no way you could have a "manual angle plow" that is 10-12' also running something that big requires special licence to drive i believe, another thing to check on. A plow that big wont be light or cheap so if you are serious I'd be doing some learning on the subject, your local place that sells plows will be able to give you price & specs you'd need for that vehicle

3. Suprman

Suprman Junior Member