1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Add a Ranger for residentials?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Billious, Dec 11, 2013.

1. Billious

Billious Member

This is my first year out on my own - having plowed for a contractor in the past, I'm pretty comfortable - and our first few snows have gone very well. I have plenty of backup, and my routes are set up well.

When I was gearing up last Summer, I wasn't sure what I'd be more successful selling - Residential or Commercial, so I kind of hedged my bets. I bought a 2002 F-350 with dump bed, and added a Snowdogg 8.5' VXF (which I'm very happy with!). I also already had a 2008 Polaris X2 700EFI with a Moose plow that I pull on a trailer behind an SUV.

As it turns out, I sold a lot more residential than Commercial. During light snows, one of my employees and I go in the plow truck and we're able to get through everything in a long night. If it's a little heavier, my routes are set up so I take an employee with me in the plow truck for the big stuff, and I have another crew take the ATV/Blowers/Shovels out to the small residential stuff.

I feel like the prospects are good for a lot of growth on the residential side for next year, and I'll probably want to add another truck with an actual plow for residentials. A Jeep would seem like a good choice, except we do full service with walks and the whole nine yards, and it seems that hauling shovels, salt and blowers in a Jeep would not be awesome. Also, this vehicle needs to be useful for my Summer garden maintenance business.