1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

A Lot To Learn

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by C.Leman, Nov 8, 2005.

1. C.Leman

C.Leman Junior Member

I am completely new to snow removal but have been running a landscape company for two years now. I have a 1997 F-450 Superduty w/ a diesel engine. It is has a manuel trans. as well as a dump-body on it. I also have a 1986 Chevy Silverado, automatic, 4x4, 1/2 ton with 3/4 ton springs on it. Lastly I have a 4x2 2005 Isuzu NPR, automatic with a 14' van body.
    I am thinking we could put a blade on the F-450 and possibly on the Silverado. Would this be the best route to go? Could we also put salt spreaders on both trucks? Or would it be smarter to put a blade on just the F-450 and then follow that with the Silverado and salt spreader? How long does it take to spread salt?
    Thank you for your help.

2. C.Leman

C.Leman Junior Member

Could we still get going this year?

A couple more questions. Is it still possible we could round up enough work for this winter? How do I know how many snow events to estimate for when doing seasonal contracts?

3. Big Human

Big Human Junior Member

Here is My Opinion.:rolleyes:

Put a 7'6" blade on the Silverado. That is is all. Just because you have 3/4 springs that is all you have. You only have small part of what you need. In a 3/4 ton they have larger brakes to help with stopping. As well as the gearing normally is different(lower). I can't remember What the Mid 80's GMC's ran for gearing.:dizzy: