1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

A few questions

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by The Duke, Oct 17, 2007.

1. The Duke

The Duke Member
    from WI

I am new to the biz. In the spring, I picked up a 1991 F250 with a new engine in it for cheapo.

Now I am looking into plowing (that is the main reason I got the truck).

First a little backround to help you answer my questions.
    I am 20 years old, but will be 21 by the time we have any significant snowfall here. I will also have a full time job in an unrelated industry.

Now for the questions.

1. For me, I assume that residential is the only way to go since I have a regular job too and can't always be there immediately, right?
    2. What size plow do I need and what can I expect to pay.
    3. Sub-contract or get my own accounts?
    4. If I sub, what is a fair wage? (I have seen ads for 15-25 and hour, but that would barely cover gas, IMO)
    5. is there a good NATIONAL insurance company that has good GL insurance?
    6. Given my full time job, how many residential account would I be able to take on?

Might have some more questions later on, but for now this should help me get started.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Probably the best thing to do would be to read a few of the threads in this New.... forum. A lot of your questions will get answered. But, yes to residential and how many depends on your job flexibility. Plow - 7.5' and cost about $3500 to $4000.

DAFFMOBILEWASH PlowSite.com Addict